More things to keep in mind for modern kosher catering.

December 16, 2016 admin No comments exist

In a previous article, we took a bit of time to look at what it means for some food to be kosher. With Montreal being so multicultural in its population make-up, it’s important to know the various diets that need to be accommodated for special events. Modern kosher catering strives to uphold the tradition while delivering a delicious and fun experience to those who abide by it. We covered some of the fundamental aspects of maintaining a kosher diet, but there are plenty of other things to keep in mind. We do recommend you get in touch with an expert to get the full details. But if you’re strapped for time, you can at least learn a bit about it in today’s article, where we’ll look at a few more things to keep in mind when setting up your kosher catering in Montreal.


  1. Kosher Doesn’t Mean It Is Kosher


It is safe to say that respecting dietary needs in this day and age is more important than ever. Consumers must be properly informed about what their food products contain so as to maintain and respect their respective diets. What adds complication to this is that it’s hard to qualify food as kosher for a few reasons. For one, kosher ingredients may have been used, but if they were processed by nonkosher equipment, it invalidates its kosher status. Certain items such as oils or pan liners can be used to process kosher products. And since they’re not technically ingredients, they’re not likely to be listed or mentioned on the packaging. It’s important to validate the validity of kosher products through a reliable agency or authority.


  1. Other Labeling


There are other forms of labeling that come into play for meeting kosher requirements. You’ll come across foods being labeled as “pareve”, which means it doesn’t contain any meat or dairy, nor was it processed with heat on dairy or meat equipment. A big one is the OU labeling, which you’ll come across as OU-D, OU Dairy or even OU Meat. When an OU item doesn’t have a suffix, it can be assumed to be pareve. Assumed being the keyword. Again, it’s highly recommended to consult experts to be absolutely certain. An example to consider is margarine, which typically contains oils and glycerides. Most brands contain about 12% dairy ingredients, while others can be considered pareve and safe for consumption.



  1. All Natural Doesn’t Mean All Kosher


Everything is all natural or pure. This is mainly to appease the latest wave of vegetarians and vegans who refuse to buy anything without those labels. It would probably be safe to assume that these items are also kosher. However, that is debatable. All nonkosher food items are natural. Therefore, the natural status of a food item has no real implication on its kosher status.


As you can see, it can start to get very tricky in determining what is kosher and what isn’t. Fortunately, we’ve got a set of dietary experts at Time that can save you from such a mental monster.  Our team has also been able to become experts in modern kosher catering. We’ll help out with those details so you can focus on bigger and better aspects of your events. Reach out to us today for more details!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *